Taiwan Joint Commission on Hospital Accreditation

Post Graduate Year Training


Medical education

        In response to the rapid advancement of medical education and the expectations of the general public towards healthcare professionals, nurturing the core competencies of medical personnel emerged as an important key for continuous professional development. The World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) proposed the concept of unity in medical professional training and emphasized the use of institutional medical education as a starting point to integrate education, training, and lifelong professional capability development via continuous professional education.  

        According to WFME, medical education has three stages: undergraduate medical education, post-graduate medical education, and continuous professional medical education. Undergraduate medical education is the starting point for cultivating physicians and preparing "quasi-doctors". Post-graduate medical education mainly focuses on the clinical training of healthcare professionals. During this period, new graduates receive standardized professional training and, with the guidance of senior physicians, they obtain the ability to provide independent healthcare services. Lastly, continuing professional education is a crucial part of the physician's career to enhance their knowledge of new theories, methods, and technologies to maintain and update professional medical capabilities.  

Figure. Continuous Medical Education System Structure  

        Joint Commission of Taiwan (JCT) implements a post-graduate clinical training system for medical personnel to bridge clinical education between undergraduate and post-graduate education. This allows new medical graduates to receive standardized professional training under the guidance of experienced clinical instructors, enhance their professional core competencies in order to achieve independent clinical practice capabilities, and simultaneously provide high-quality healthcare services. Since 2007, the MOHW has supported and reimbursed each teaching hospital in executing training for post-graduate medical personnel through the “Instruction Fee Reimbursement Programs for Teaching Hospitals” program. JCT has invited 11 medical professional groups and experts in the field to establish a post-graduate clinical training system. The system encompasses information on training targets, duration, methods, evaluation standards, and training locations. Moreover, the post-graduate training system is included in the assessment for hospital accreditation as a basic requirement. In 2014, three occupational classes, including an audiologist, language therapist, and dental technician, were added to the system.  

Figure. Post-Graduate Year (PGY) Training of Healthcare Professionals  


Post Graduate Year (PGY) Training  

        Since 2003, the Joint Commission of Taiwan (JCT) has planned and implemented a Post-Graduate Year (PGY) training program; established a comprehensive post-graduate training system in teaching hospitals; and further expanded the system to 14 types of healthcare professionals, such as physicians, dentists, Chinese Medicine Doctors (CMD), and other healthcare allied professionals, etc.  

Go Top